MTU Maintenance starts #SmartNewNormal

MTU Maintenance ramps back up capacity to serve customers and respond to market needs.

05.2020 | Text: Victoria Nicholls

Text:
Victoria Nicholls is a specialist for aftermarket topics such as engine MRO, leasing and asset management, as well as international market trends. The British-born editor lives in Berlin and works for MTU’s corporate communications in Hannover and Ludwigsfelde.

What a difference a week makes! Following a three-week suspension of operations, MTU Maintenance’s facilities in Hannover and Berlin are ramping back up their capacity to a smart new normal.

Construction of the new 22,000 m<sup>2</sup> workshop and its administrative building at MTU Maintenance Hannover is coming along nicely. Hover over the image for a bigger view

Construction of the new 22,000 m2 workshop and its administrative building at MTU Maintenance Hannover is coming along nicely.

baustellen

Construction of the new 22,000 m2 workshop and its administrative building at MTU Maintenance Hannover is coming along nicely.

MLS is currently performing engine inspections virtually, too. This gives the inspectors a general idea of the engine’s condition without their being physically present. Hover over the image for a bigger view

MLS is currently performing engine inspections virtually, too. This gives the inspectors a general idea of the engine’s condition without their being physically present.

virtual_inspection

MLS is currently performing engine inspections virtually, too. This gives the inspectors a general idea of the engine’s condition without their being physically present.

Across its network, MTU Maintenance is flexibly adjusting its shop capacities to meet demand going forward. Additionally, the company has identified critical parts and repairs and, as a result, has already negotiated and reached agreements with the respective governments to remain working in its MRO facilities in Dallas, Vancouver and Zhuhai. It is also continuing operations at its repair centers in Munich and Kuala Lumpur. Furthermore, the company is continuing to invest in and carry out construction work across its network, as in Hannover, where a 22,000-square-meter production hall and accompanying administrative building is progressing well.

This #SmartNewNormal is true to the MTU way: the company’s dedicated engine experts never give up until the best solution possible has been found. This applies even more in this new and ever-evolving situation. Like, for instance, at MTU Maintenance Lease Services (MLS), which recently carried out a virtual inspection for customer Vallair. While a virtual inspection can never replace a real one, it does give insight into the condition of the engine and how best to manage the asset moving forward.

Video: Ramping up again at Hannover Article with video

Ramping up again at Hannover

Watch the video to get an idea of how different things looked while operations were sus-pended compared with now following the ramp-up. To the video ...

During these challenging times, the company considers such creative and intelligent approaches as its contribution to getting the aviation industry going again. MTU is supporting airlines with its innovative and cost-effective engine solutions as they optimize cash flows and cut costs in any way possible in their battle to survive. In addition, the MRO provider continues to invest in cost-reduction measures for operators, including smart repairs and flexible leasing services as well as sourcing teardown engines and used serviceable material. Such options also help mitigate fluctuations in the supply chain, while ensuring critical flight safety and an effective industry restart.

MTU Newsletter
MTU Newsletter

Receive regular updates on excellent service and top technology “made by MTU” with our newsletter, which also features a range of topics from the wider world of aviation.

You may also be interested in these articles:

MTU Maintenance was founded 40 years ago

09.2019 | Forty years ago, construction of MTU Maintenance’s first‑ever shop began in the immediate vicinity of Hannover‑Langenhagen Airport. We take a trip back in time to the company’s early years when the first shop visit was still a real novelty.

#SmartNewNormal bei der MTU Maintenance

Mit Blick auf den Bedarf ihrer Kunden und Märkte fährt die MTU Maintenance den Betrieb jetzt wieder hoch.

05.2020 | Autorin: Victoria Nicholls

Autorin:
Victoria Nicholls berichtet innerhalb der MTU-Unter­nehmens­kommuni­kation über Themen wie Trieb­werks-MRO, Leasing und Asset Management sowie inter­nationale Markt­trends. Die gebürtige Britin wohnt in Berlin und arbeitet an den MTU-Standorten in Hannover und Ludwigsfelde.

Was sich in nur einer Woche alles ändern kann! Nach dreiwöchiger Pause beginnt für die MTU Maintenance an ihren Standorten Hannover und Berlin mit dem Wiederanlauf des Betriebs ein „Smart New Normal“.

Der Bau der neuen Werkhalle mit einer Fläche von 22.000 Quadratmetern und zugehörigem Verwaltungsgebäude bei der MTU Maintenance Hannover schreitet gut voran. Fahren Sie über das Bild für eine größere Ansicht

Der Bau der neuen Werkhalle mit einer Fläche von 22.000 Quadratmetern und zugehörigem Verwaltungsgebäude bei der MTU Maintenance Hannover schreitet gut voran.

baustellen

Der Bau der neuen Werkhalle mit einer Fläche von 22.000 Quadratmetern und zugehörigem Verwaltungsgebäude bei der MTU Maintenance Hannover schreitet gut voran.

MLS führt ihre Triebwerksinspektion derzeit auch virtuell durch. So bekommen sie, ohne Vorort zu sein, schon einen Eindruck vom Zustand des Triebwerks. Fahren Sie über das Bild für eine größere Ansicht

MLS führt ihre Triebwerksinspektion derzeit auch virtuell durch. So bekommen sie, ohne Vorort zu sein, schon einen Eindruck vom Zustand des Triebwerks.

virtual_inspection

MLS führt ihre Triebwerksinspektion derzeit auch virtuell durch. So bekommen sie, ohne Vorort zu sein, schon einen Eindruck vom Zustand des Triebwerks.

Im gesamten Netzwerk passen die Shops ihre Kapazitäten flexibel für den künftigen Bedarf an. Das Unternehmen hatte zudem kritische Teile und Reparaturen identifiziert und mit den jeweiligen Regierungen bereits den Fortlauf des Betriebs in Dallas, Vancouver und Zhuhai ausgehandelt. Auch in den Reparaturzentren in München und Kuala Lumpur geht die Arbeit weiter. Darüber hinaus investiert das Unternehmen weiterhin in den Ausbau seiner Anlagen, beispielsweise in Hannover, wo der Bau der neuen Werkhalle mit einer Fläche von 22.000 Quadratmetern und zugehörigem Verwaltungsgebäude gut voranschreitet.

Mit #SmartNewNormal bleibt die MTU ihrem Wesen treu, denn seit jeher geben die Triebwerksexperten des Unternehmens nicht auf, bevor sie nicht die optimale Lösung gefunden haben – dies gilt umso mehr in diesen ungewohnten und dynamischen Zeiten. Das bewies auch die MTU Maintenance Lease Services (MLS), als sie kürzlich für ihren Kunden Vallair eine virtuelle Inspektion vornahm. Virtuelle Prüfungen werden die Vor-Ort-Inspektion zwar niemals ersetzen, geben aber dennoch einen Eindruck vom Zustand des Triebwerks und helfen, über das weitere Asset Management zu entscheiden.

Video: Wiederanlauf Hannover Artikel mit Video

Wiederanlauf Hannover

In unserem Video zeigen wir Ihnen, wie der Betrieb während der Stilllegung und nun nach dem Hochlauf aussieht. Zum Video ...

Angesichts der aktuellen Herausforderungen untersucht das Unternehmen kreative und smarte Ansätze, um der Luftfahrt zu einem Neustart zu verhelfen. Mit innovativen und wirtschaftlichen Triebwerkslösungen unterstützt die MTU Fluggesellschaften dabei, ihre Cashflows zu optimieren, Kosten wo möglich zu senken und so ihr Überleben zu sichern. Darüber hinaus investiert der MRO-​Dienstleister fortlaufend in Kostensenkungsmaßnahmen für Betreiber, darunter smarte Reparaturen und flexible Leasingservices sowie die Beschaffung von Teardown Engines und von gebrauchten, aber einsatzfähigen Teilen.

MTU-Newsletter
MTU-Newsletter

Unser Newsletter informiert Sie regelmäßig über Hochtechnologie und exzellenten Service „made by MTU“. Wir blicken aber auch über den Tellerrand hinaus auf allgemeine Luftfahrtthemen.

Diese Artikel könnten Sie auch interessieren:

Vor 40 Jahren wurde die MTU Maintenance gegründet

09.2019 | In direkter Nähe zum Flughafen Hannover-Langenhagen erfolgt vor 40 Jahren der Spatenstich für den Bau des ersten Standorts der MTU Maintenance. Eine Zeitreise zurück in die Gründungsjahre, als das erste zivile Triebwerk im Shop noch ehrfürchtig bestaunt wird.