New long-haul business jets give the market new momentum

The Gulfstream G500 and G600 are hot new arrivals on the large-cabin business jet scene—the market segment with the strongest growth and the highest revenue.

06.2019 | Text: Andreas Spaeth

Text:
Andreas Spaeth ist seit über 25 Jahren als freier Luftfahrtjournalist in aller Welt unterwegs, um Airlines und Flughäfen zu besuchen und über sie zu berichten. Bei aktuellen Anlässen ist er ein gefragter Interviewpartner in Hörfunk und Fernsehen.

Finally, the bruised busi­ness avia­tion mar­ket is start­ing to show long-awaited signs of re­cov­ery. At the start of the glo­bal fi­nan­cial cri­sis in 2008, annual busi­ness jet de­liv­eries were peaking at around 1,300. These were big num­bers at the time con­sid­er­ing that busi­ness jets serve a niche mar­ket seg­ment. In the wake of the re­cession, how­ever, annual deliveries slumped, falling by around 50 per­cent to a level they would re­main at for many years to come. After almost a de­cade of stag­na­ting pro­duc­tion vol­umes, the mar­ket greatly wel­comes any sti­mu­la­tion it can get.

Now more opti­mis­tic, analysts are confi­dent that 2019 will be the year when things start to pick up in the busi­ness avia­tion sector. After all, new air­craft models are spar­king keen inte­rest from an exac­ting clien­tele with cash to burn—in a seg­ment where single air­craft are avail­able for approxi­mately 30 million U.S. dollars but where it’s usual to pay some­where in the re­gion of 40–75 million for a brand-new pri­vate jet for long-haul routes. Ana­lysts believe that four new­comers to the biz­jet mar­ket will drive up sales in 2019 by more than ten per­cent com­pared to the pre­vious year.

**Promising market:** MTU plans to triple its revenue in the business jet sector in the next ten years. Hover over the image for a bigger view

Promising market: MTU plans to triple its revenue in the business jet sector in the next ten years.

aeroreport_business-jets_1

Promising market: MTU plans to triple its revenue in the business jet sector in the next ten years.

**PW500:** MTU joined this com­mer­cial en­gine pro­gram for mid­size busi­ness jets in 1993 with a work­share of 25 per­cent. Hover over the image for a bigger view

PW500: MTU joined this com­mer­cial en­gine pro­gram for mid­size busi­ness jets in 1993 with a work­share of 25 per­cent.

aeroreport_business-jets_2

PW500: MTU joined this com­mer­cial en­gine pro­gram for mid­size busi­ness jets in 1993 with a work­share of 25 per­cent.

**PW800:** The PW800 is part of the PurePower® engine family from Pratt & Whitney. MTU Aero Engines holds a 15 percent work­share in the pro­gram. Hover over the image for a bigger view

PW800: The PW800 is part of the PurePower® engine family from Pratt & Whitney. MTU Aero Engines holds a 15 percent work­share in the pro­gram.

aeroreport_business-jets_3

PW800: The PW800 is part of the PurePower® engine family from Pratt & Whitney. MTU Aero Engines holds a 15 percent work­share in the pro­gram.

**Years of experience:** To date, MTU has de­livered some 7,000 mo­dules for the Pratt & Whitney Canada PW300 and PW500 busi­ness jet en­gines. Hover over the image for a bigger view

Years of experience: To date, MTU has de­livered some 7,000 mo­dules for the Pratt & Whitney Canada PW300 and PW500 busi­ness jet en­gines.

aeroreport_business-jets_4

Years of experience: To date, MTU has de­livered some 7,000 mo­dules for the Pratt & Whitney Canada PW300 and PW500 busi­ness jet en­gines.

More range, more luxury and more space

“There’s a sig­ni­fi­cant, almost end­less de­sire for more range, more luxury and more space among busi­ness-jet buyers,” says David Tyerman from Cormark Securities in Toronto. “We saw that with the G650, and the Bombardier Global 7000 takes it yet another step further. Every time a manu­facturer comes out with a pro­duct that’s more capable, there seems to be a mar­ket that we didn’t know existed.” Bombardier has now extended the base­line range of its Global 7000 to 13,500 kilo­meters, meaning the ultra­long-range air­craft (now known as the Bombardier Global 7500) can whisk up to 19 passengers nonstop from New York to Hong Kong, or from Singapore to Munich, in sublime com­fort.

Three rival companies dominate the long-haul bus­iness jet mar­ket: Bombardier (Canada), Gulfstream (U.S.) and Dassault (France). Gulfstream previously laid claim to the furthest reach with its G650ER, which offers an opera­ting range of just over 12,000 kilo­meters. Now the jet has been ousted from the top spot by the even further-flying Bombardier Global 8000, which can cover a distance of 14,600 kilo­meters with­out stopping to re­fuel. How­ever, it is the G500 and G600, two new­comers from Gulfstream, that are really sha­king up the mar­ket.

Higher efficiency engines boost the market

Even to the un­trained eye, the exterior of a Gulfstream jet is easily dis­tin­guish­able from other manu­fac­tur­ers’ models by its dis­tinc­tive oval win­dows. But the dif­fer­ences that make the dif­fer­ence aren’t ap­par­ent at first glance. Two key ways to in­crease the range of busi­ness jets is to give them lar­ger tanks and more efficient en­gines. The smaller G500 and the stretched, longer-reach variant, the G600—with a range of ap­proxi­mate­ly 12,000 kilo­meters—are both powered by the Pratt & Whitney Canada’s new PW800 en­gines. Munich-based MTU Aero Engines holds a 15 per­cent work share in this en­gine pro­gram, with res­ponsibility for the low-pressure tur­bine and various sta­ges of the high-pressure com­pressor.

The Gulfstream sisters

Gulfstream G500 Like the G600, the smal­ler G500 can car­ry 19 pas­sen­gers but has a shor­ter range of 9,630 kilo­meters.

Gulfstream G600 The G600 and the G500 both reach speeds of Mach 0,9, ma­king them the fas­test jets in their ca­te­go­ry.

When it comes to en­gines for busi­ness jets, MTU has years of ex­perience under its belt. “We focus on the mediumand large-cabin jets,” explains Wolfgang Mattig from MTU in Munich, where he is re­spon­sible for pro­grams de­livered in partner­ship with Pratt & Whitney Canada. MTU holds stakes of bet­ween 15 and 25 percent in the slightly smaller PW300 and PW500 busi­ness jet en­gines: “The fleet powered by these en­gines is growing fast. We’ve already de­livered around 7,000 modules to our part­ners in Canada,” Mattig says. French ma­nu­fac­turer Dassault’s popular Falcon 7X and its suc­ces­sor, the Falcon 8X, are po­wered by the PW307A and the PW307D res­pec­tive­ly and MTU has a work­share in both.

The PW800 is a re­cent addition to MTU’s busi­ness jet port­folio. “With our stake in this new Pratt & Whitney Canada en­gine pro­gram, we looking to tap into the op­por­tu­nities this seg­ment offers,” Mattig says. The PW800 has the same core en­gine as the mo­dels that po­wer the A320neo, A220, Embraer E2 and Mitsubishi MRJ pas­sen­ger air­craft. It’s also set to be­come the pro­pul­sion sys­tem for an­other im­por­tant busi­ness jet: the new Dassault Falcon 6X, which is sche­du­led to make its mai­den flight in 2021 and will form the ba­sis for a brand new ca­te­go­ry of air­craft.

Mach 0.98 and maximum headroom of 1.98 meters

The new­comers on the busi­ness jet scene have clear­ly made quite an im­pres­sion on Mattig. Both models have the PW800 as their ex­clu­sive power­plant: “As clean­sheet designs, the G500 and G600 aircraft reach speeds of Mach 0.90, out­per­for­ming all other jets in their class. When it come to the tal­lest and wi­dest cabin, the Falcon 6X—with its maxi­mum head­room of 1.98 meters—has the edge. These im­pres­sive fea­tures are sure to cause a stir among busi­ness jet cus­tom­ers, almost 65 per­cent of which are based in North America; an­other 13 per­cent are in Europe and 12 per­cent in South America.

MTU is op­ti­mis­tic about the po­ten­tial this sector holds. “The market for large-cabin busi­ness jets looks very prom­is­ing,” Mattig says, “and we ex­pect our bizjet sales to triple in the next ten years.” Analysts at Aviation Week are also ex­pecting an up­tick in the mar­ket: ac­cord­ing to a recent fore­cast, 792 busi­ness jets are slated for de­livery world­wide in 2019, with this num­ber growing to 917 in 2028. What’s also note­worthy about this fore­cast is that for the same period it anti­ci­pates de­live­ries of ultra­long-range busi­ness jets (such as the G500 and G600 or the Dassault Falcon family) to ge­ne­rate the high­est re­ve­nue of any air­craft cate­gory at al­most 105 billion U.S. dollars, trailed by large-cabin jets at around 30 billion U.S. dollars.

MTU Newsletter
MTU Newsletter

Receive regular updates on excellent service and top technology “made by MTU” with our newsletter, which also features a range of topics from the wider world of aviation.

You may also be interested in these articles:

The pioneer of no-frills air travel

05.2013 | Southwest Airlines is the largest domestic passenger airline in the U.S. and has been turning a profit for the past 40 years. The carrier operates a fleet of close to 700 all-Boeing 737 aircraft, the older versions of which are now being phased out. Thanks to MTU Maintenance, the airline’s CFM56-3 engines can continue to operate highly efficiently for years to come.

From airmail carrier to global player

11.2013 | US Airways began operations back in 1939 as an airmail carrier. The company quickly grew, changing its name several times along the way as a result of various buyouts and mergers. One thing that has remained unchanged over the last 20 years is the trust that US Airways places in the expertise of MTU Maintenance.

Neue Business Jets für Langstrecken stimulieren den Markt

Gulfstream G500 und G600 heißen die wichtigen Neuerscheinungen im Segment großer Businessjets. Dieses wächst am stärksten und erzielt die höchste Wertschöpfung.

06.2019 | Autor: Andreas Spaeth

Autor:
Andreas Spaeth ist seit über 25 Jahren als freier Luftfahrtjournalist in aller Welt unterwegs, um Airlines und Flughäfen zu besuchen und über sie zu berichten. Bei aktuellen Anlässen ist er ein gefragter Interviewpartner in Hörfunk und Fernsehen.

Es gibt endlich neue Im­pulse auf dem Markt für Business­jets, von der Branche sehn­lich erwartet. Noch 2008, bei Beginn der weltweiten Finanz­krise, lag die Anzahl der jährlich aus­ge­lieferten Business­jets bei etwa 1.300. Das waren nicht ein­mal damals große Stück­zahlen, der Markt für Geschäfts­reise­flug­zeuge ist kein Massen­markt. Nach der Re­zession hat sich die Anzahl jähr­licher Aus­lie­fe­rung­en etwa bei der Häl­fte ein­ge­pen­delt und ver­harrt dort seit längerem un­ver­än­dert. Nach fast einem Jahr­zehnt stag­nieren­der Pro­duktion ist jede Sti­mu­la­ti­on will­kommen.

Der­zeit sind Analysten op­ti­mis­tisch und trauen der Branche für 2019 eine Wen­de zum Positiven zu. Denn neue Flug­zeug­typen regen das Interesse und die Kauf­lust einer über­aus anspruchsvollen Klientel an, in einem Seg­ment, wo es Flug­zeuge ab etwa 30 Millionen US-Dollar pro Stück gibt, aber üblicher­weise zwischen 40 und 75 Millionen US-Dollar für einen fabrik­neuen Lang­strecken-Privat­jet ver­langt werden. Gleich vier Neu­er­scheinungen, so hoffen Analysten, könnten die Um­sätze für 2019 um mehr als zehn Pro­zent gegen­über dem Vor­jahr steigen lassen.

**Aufstrebender Markt:** Die MTU möchte ihren Um­satz im Seg­ment der Geschäfts­reise­flug­zeuge in den nächsten zehn Jahr­en ver­drei­fachen. Fahren Sie über das Bild für eine größere Ansicht

Aufstrebender Markt: Die MTU möchte ihren Um­satz im Seg­ment der Geschäfts­reise­flug­zeuge in den nächsten zehn Jahr­en ver­drei­fachen.

aeroreport_business-jets_1

Aufstrebender Markt: Die MTU möchte ihren Um­satz im Seg­ment der Geschäfts­reise­flug­zeuge in den nächsten zehn Jahr­en ver­drei­fachen.

**PW500:** An diesem zivilen Trieb­werk für mittel­große Geschäfts­reise­flug­zeu­ge ist die MTU seit 1993 mit einem Programm­anteil von 25 Prozent beteiligt. Fahren Sie über das Bild für eine größere Ansicht

PW500: An diesem zivilen Trieb­werk für mittel­große Geschäfts­reise­flug­zeu­ge ist die MTU seit 1993 mit einem Programm­anteil von 25 Prozent beteiligt.

aeroreport_business-jets_2

PW500: An diesem zivilen Trieb­werk für mittel­große Geschäfts­reise­flug­zeu­ge ist die MTU seit 1993 mit einem Programm­anteil von 25 Prozent beteiligt.

**PW800:** Das PW800 ge­hört zur PurePower®-Familie von Pratt & Whitney. An dem Pro­gramm hält die MTU Aero Engines ins­ge­samt 15 Pro­zent. Fahren Sie über das Bild für eine größere Ansicht

PW800: Das PW800 ge­hört zur PurePower®-Familie von Pratt & Whitney. An dem Pro­gramm hält die MTU Aero Engines ins­ge­samt 15 Pro­zent.

aeroreport_business-jets_3

PW800: Das PW800 ge­hört zur PurePower®-Familie von Pratt & Whitney. An dem Pro­gramm hält die MTU Aero Engines ins­ge­samt 15 Pro­zent.

**Langjährige Erfahrung:** Die MTU Aero Engines hat bereits rund 7.000 Mo­dule für die Business­jet-An­triebe PW300 und PW500 von Pratt & Whitney Canada ge­liefert. Fahren Sie über das Bild für eine größere Ansicht

Langjährige Erfahrung: Die MTU Aero Engines hat bereits rund 7.000 Mo­dule für die Business­jet-An­triebe PW300 und PW500 von Pratt & Whitney Canada ge­liefert.

aeroreport_business-jets_4

Langjährige Erfahrung: Die MTU Aero Engines hat bereits rund 7.000 Mo­dule für die Business­jet-An­triebe PW300 und PW500 von Pratt & Whitney Canada ge­liefert.

Mehr Reichweite, mehr Luxus und mehr Platz

„Es gibt ein sig­ni­fi­kan­tes, un­still­ba­res Ver­langen nach mehr Reich­weite, mehr Luxus und mehr Platz an Bord unter Busi­nessjet-Käufern“, sagt David Tyerman von Cormark Securities in Toronto. „Wir haben das bereits bei der Gulfstream G650 gesehen, und die Bombardier Global 7000 geht sogar noch ein Stück weiter. Jedes Mal, wenn ein Her­steller ein neues, noch leistungs­fähigeres Pro­dukt heraus­bringt, scheint da ein Markt zu sein, von dem wir gar nicht wussten, dass er existiert.“ Die Reich­weite der Global 7000 wurde jetzt auf 14.200 Kilo­meter oder 7.700 nautische Meilen ge­steigert, damit können bis zu 19 eilige Passagiere in größ­tem Komfort nonstop von New York nach Hongkong oder von Singapur nach München fliegen.

Den Markt für Business­jets auf Lang­strecken be­herrschen drei Wett­bewerber: Bombardier aus Kanada, Gulfstream aus den USA und Dassault aus Frankreich. Bei der größten Reich­weite lag bisher die Gulfstream G650ER mit etwas über 13.000 Kilo­metern Einsatz­radius vorn. Jetzt wurde sie an der Spitze abgelöst von der wiederum aus­dauern­deren Bombardier Global 8000, die über 14.600 Kilo­meter Dis­tanz ohne Stopp bewältigen kann. Doch wirk­liche Inspiration für den Markt liefern zwei neue Varianten von Gulfstream, die G500 und die G600.

Schub für den Markt durch effizientere Triebwerke

Schon äußerlich heben sich Gulfstream-Flugzeuge selbst für Laien erkenn­bar von Modellen anderer Hersteller durch ihre mar­kan­ten ovalen Fens­ter ab. Die ent­schei­den­den Unter­schiede jedoch er­schließen sich nicht auf den ersten Blick. Größere Tanks und effizientere Trieb­werke sind zwei wichtige Stell­schrauben, um Busi­ness­jets in ihrer Aus­dauer zu verbessern. Die kleinere G500 und ihre längere und mit 12.000 Kilo­metern noch weiter fliegende Schwester G600 verfügen beide über die neuen PW800-Trieb­werke von Pratt & Whitney Canada, an diesem Pro­gramm hält die MTU Aero Engines 15 Prozent. Der Münchner Trieb­werks­her­steller ist für ver­schie­dene Stu­fen des Hoch­druck­ver­dich­ters so­wie für die Nie­der­druck­tur­bine zu­ständig.

Die Gulfstream Schwestern

Gulfstream G500 Die klei­ne­re G500 hat zwar wie die G600 Platz für 19 Pas­sa­giere, fliegt aber nur 9.630 Kilo­meter weit.

Gulfstream G600 Die G600 er­reicht wie ihre Schwes­ter Mach 0,9. Damit sind die bei­den Gulf­stream die schnellsten Jets ihrer Klas­se.

Die MTU hat bereits lang­jährige Er­fahrung mit An­trieben für Business­jets. „Unser Fokus liegt dabei auf mittel­großen und großen Varianten“, erklärt Wolfgang Mattig, Leiter für die ge­mein­sam mit Pratt & Whitney Canada be­triebenen Pro­gramme bei der MTU in München. An den etwas kleineren Trieb­werken PW300 und PW500 ist die MTU mit Pro­gramm­an­teilen zwischen 15 und 25 Pro­zent be­teiligt, „die Flotte mit diesen Trieb­werks­typen wächst stark, wir haben bis­lang bereits rund 7.000 Module an unseren Partner in Kanada geliefert“, berichtet Mattig. So werden die be­liebte fran­zö­sische Dassault Falcon 7X und ihr Nach­folge­modell 8X von PW307A - be­ziehungs­weise PW307D-Trieb­werken mit MTU-Beteiligung an­getrieben.

Ein weiterer An­trieb für große Geschäfts­reise­flugzeuge er­weitert nun das MTU Portfolio: „Mit unserem Anteil am PW800, ebenfalls von Pratt & Whitney Canada, wollen wir an den Chancen in diesem Segment par­ti­zi­pie­ren“, so Mattig. Diese Trieb­werke haben das gleiche Kern­trieb­werk wie jene, die die Passagierjets A320neo, A220, Embraer E2 und Mitsubishi MRJ antreiben. Das PW800 hat künftig noch einen richtigen Business­jet-Abnehmer: Die Dassault Falcon 6X, deren Erstflug für 2021 geplant ist und die zur Grund­lage einer neuen Flug­zeug­familie werden soll.

Mach 0,98 und 1,98 Meter Deckenhöhe

Wolfgang Mattig schwärmt von den Neu­er­schei­nungen, an denen als ex­klusiver Antrieb das PW800 hängt: „Die G500/G600 sind komplett neu ent­wickelte Flug­zeuge und mit Mach 0,9 die schnell­sten Jets ihrer Klasse, während die Falcon 6X über die brei­tes­te Kabine und mit 1,98 Meter auch die größte Decken­höhe ver­fügen wird.“ Auch das wird sicher bei diesem be­son­de­ren Kun­den­kreis für Auf­merk­sam­keit sorgen, der zu fast 65 Prozent in Nord­amerika be­hei­ma­tet ist, gefolgt von Europa mit 13 Pro­zent und Süd­amerika (12 Prozent).

Bei der MTU blickt man op­ti­mis­tisch auf das Po­ten­zial: „Wir sehen den Markt für große Business­jets sehr positiv“, sagt Wolfgang Mattig, „und erwarten eine Ver­drei­fach­ung unseres Um­satzes im Seg­ment der Geschäfts­reise­flugzeuge in den nächs­ten zehn Jahren.“ Eine erwartete Be­lebung dieses Mark­tes, den die Prog­nose von Aviation Week stützt: Dem­nach steigen die welt­weiten jähr­lichen Flug­zeug-Aus­lieferungen in diesem Seg­ment von 792 in 2019 auf 917 in 2028. Interessant daran ist, dass in diesem Zeit­raum laut Vor­her­sage Ultra­lang­strecken-Business­jets wie die G500/600 oder die Dassault Falcons im Wert von fast 105 Milliarden US-Dollar verkauft werden sollen, mit weitem Abstand gefolgt von großen Business­jets im Wert von 30 Milliarden US-Dollar.

MTU-Newsletter
MTU-Newsletter

Unser Newsletter informiert Sie regelmäßig über Hochtechnologie und exzellenten Service „made by MTU“. Wir blicken aber auch über den Tellerrand hinaus auf allgemeine Luftfahrtthemen.

Diese Artikel könnten Sie auch interessieren:

Die Mutter aller Billigflüge

05.2013 | Die Southwest Airlines ist die größte Inlandsfluggesellschaft der USA und seit 40 Jahren profitabel. Die älteren Versionen der fast 700 Flugzeuge zählenden Boeing 737-Flotte werden jetzt ausgemustert. Danke der MTU Maintenance können die CFM56-3-Triebwerke auch in den kommenden Jahren noch hocheffizient eingesetzt werden.

Vom Postflieger zum Global Player

11.2013 | Die US-Fluggesellschaft ging 1939 mit Luftpost-Lieferungen an den Start, wuchs schnell und wechselte nach Übernahmen und Fusionen mehrfach ihren Namen. Seit 20 Jahren konstant: Das Vertrauen der US Airways in die Kompetenz der MTU Maintenance.