Sometimes all it takes to understand complex interrelationships is a simple image: in the future, passengers will still board real aircraft powered by real engines. However, the development and production of these engines is increasingly shifting to the digital world. Having anticipated this trend early on, MTU benefits – especially right now – from the fact that Skype meetings and video conferences, for example, have been an established part of its business for some time. Thousands of employees may be temporarily working from home, but they are still there to help colleagues, customers and business partners.

Back in 2016, MTU began rolling out its Digital Transformation Program across the board. The goal was no less than to digitalize the entire company. Four years later, MTU is driving forward some 300 individual digitalization projects. Needs and solutions fit hand in glove.

In its most basic form, the approach spans departments – and often sites as well. It includes ensuring on-time deliveries, minimizing inventories and presenting product progress – alongside the widespread rollout of data analyses, machine-learning algorithms and artificial intelligence. Digital models on computers are increasingly used to simulate costly and time-intensive testing. Networked customer and supplier data mitigate potential disruptions in the supply chain – long before they can jeopardize the company’s sophisticated production logistics processes.

The approach is also firmly anchored in the administrative departments, where it goes far beyond replacing the use of paper by electronic workflows. Robotic process automation supports standard processes, while the new e-learning system provides independent study programs and supports blended learning in the workplace. It’s about having the courage to challenge current processes and think about them critically. The same logic applies to the future tools themselves. After all, digitalization is not an end in itself. Our focus is always on real added value that helps us and our products make measurable progress.

You can read the first articles in the series here:

Manchmal sind es die einfachen Bilder, die komplexe Zusammenhänge auf den Punkt bringen: Auch in Zukunft werden Passagiere in reale Flugzeuge steigen, die von realen Triebwerken angetrieben werden. Aber die Entwicklung und Produktion verlagert sich immer mehr in die digitale Welt. Die Weichen für diesen Trend hat die MTU früh gestellt. Gerade dieser Tage profitiert sie davon, dass zum Beispiel Skype-Besprechungen und Videokonferenzen längst etabliert sind. Tausende Mitarbeiter arbeiten kurzfristig aus dem Home-Office. Von dort sind sie für Kollegen, Kunden und Geschäftspartner da.

Im Jahr 2016 begann die MTU damit, ihr „Digital Transformation Program“ in der Breite zu verankern. Zielsetzung war nicht weniger, als das gesamte Unternehmen durchgehend zu digitalisieren. Vier Jahre später treibt die MTU rund 300 Einzelprojekte voran. Einem Reißverschluss gleich fügen sich Bedarfe und Lösungen ineinander.

Die Perspektive ist eine mindestens fachbereichs-, ja oft sogar eine standortübergreifende: Lieferungen absichern, Bestände minimieren und Produktfortschritte darstellen – dabei Datenanalysen, selbstlernende Algorithmen und Künstliche Intelligenz auf breiter Front ausrollen. Digitale Modelle bilden kostspielige und zeitintensive Versuchsträger zusehends am Computer nach. Vernetzte Kunden- und Lieferantendaten entschärfen potenzielle Störungen in der Lieferkette – lange bevor es die ausgeklügelte Fertigungslogistik kritisch wird.

Der Ansatz setzt sich im administrativen Bereich ausdrücklich fort, und zwar weit über die Ablösung von Papiereinsatz durch elektronische Workflows hinaus. Robotic Process Automation flankiert die Standardabläufe. Das neue E-Learning-System stellt Lernprogramme fürs Selbststudium bereit und unterstützt Blended Learning im Arbeitseinsatz. Es zählt der Mut, bisherige Prozesse kritisch auf den Prüfstand zu stellen. Das gilt auch für die zukünftigen Tools selbst. Selbstzweck sei die Digitalisierung schließlich nicht. Im Mittelpunkt steht immer echter Mehrwert, der uns und unsere Produkte messbar voranbringt.

Hier können sie die ersten Artikel der Serie lesen: