innovation

Geared turbofan development: Still room for improvement

Cleaner, quieter and more fuel-efficient—the first GTF generation was already considered a technical masterpiece. But this engine architecture still has much to offer.

10.2021 | Text: Denis Dilba

Text:
Denis Dilba holds a degree in mechatronics, is a graduate of the German School of Journalism, and founded the “Substanz” digital science magazine. He writes articles about a wide variety of technical and business themes.

Kopf

A gearbox transmits power, converting torque and speeds. No wonder, then, that the component made its way into the engines of various aircraft long before 2008. Helicopters, for example, can’t function at all without this mechanical component, and in turboprop engines, too, gears have always ensured that the propellers turn at the right speed. Since the introduction of the geared turbofan program 13 years ago, gearboxes have also played a role in commercial aircraft—with significantly higher performance requirements. “The novelty of this so-called planetary gear was and indeed is the enormous requirement in terms of the power to be transferred,” says Dr. Stephan Bock, Director Engineering Commercial Programs at MTU Aero Engines. “Over an area no larger than a manhole cover, the gearbox has to transfer about 20 megawatts of power—that’s as much as a small stationary power plant.”

In addition to the high performance, the highest demands are placed on the reliability of the geared turbofan’s entire technology. “In this power class, even a tiny percentage of heat loss is so great that cooling must always be ensured—otherwise the gearbox will heat up to the melting point of its constituent materials in no time at all and then, to put it bluntly, simply won’t be there,” Bock explains. The “G” in “geared turbofan,” or GTF, thus remains an outstanding feat of engineering, because this new architecture lets all components run at their optimum speed: the large-diameter fan slower, and the low-pressure compressor and low-pressure turbine considerably faster. In the absence of a gearbox, compromises have to be made in terms of speeds, which then come at the expense of component efficiencies. To date, no other competitor besides GTF manufacturer Pratt & Whitney has managed to bring such a planetary gear train into the world of aviation.

High-speed low-pressure turbine: Hover over the image for a bigger view

High-speed low-pressure turbine: MTU won two German innovation awards for this key GTF component.

High-speed low-pressure turbine:

Leveraging potential with MTU engineering expertise

Other key technological highlights and milestones that are central to the geared turbofan’s functioning include the two main MTU components: the high-speed low-pressure turbine and the first four stages of the eight-stage high-pressure compressor engineered in blisk design. As a result, the geared turbofan achieves a very high degree of efficiency, which, from a purely mathematical point of view, is already impressive: fuel consumption and carbon dioxide emissions are reduced by 16 percent each, and the noise footprint by 75 percent. The GTF also brings significant improvements in terms of NOx emissions, which are 50 percent lower than those of its predecessor. Operators currently report fuel savings of as much as 20 percent compared to aircraft of the previous generation, according to Tom Pelland, Senior Vice President, Commercial Engine Programs at GTF manufacturer Pratt & Whitney.

This success is due in no small part to the high-speed low-pressure turbine in particular, with its higher efficiencies. MTU won two German innovation awards for this key GTF component. The high rotational speeds that result from the GTF’s reduction gearbox mean the stages can work harder. That’s why the Airbus A320neo engine needs just three stages. As a result, the space, weight, maintenance costs, fuel consumption and CO2 emissions of the entire engine all decrease. And as if this weren’t impressive enough, the MTU low-pressure turbine goes a long way toward achieving the aim of reducing noise emissions. It is much quieter than conventional models because its noise emissions are at higher frequencies; these are better absorbed by the atmosphere, to the point where the human ear can barely detect them.

GTF engine family: The new engines offer double-digit improvements in fuel burn, pollutant and noise emissions, and operating costs.

No end to the GTF success story in sight

What does “bypass ratio” actually mean?

In modern engines, also known as turbofan engines, the core engine is a gas turbine that drives a fan, which in turn accelerates air past the core engine in the bypass flow. The ratio between this airflow and a second airflow that passes through the turbine itself is known as the bypass ratio.

What makes an engine efficient is when it moves large air masses at a speed as close as possible to the airspeed—in other words, while demonstrating a high bypass ratio. This in turn lowers fuel consumption and emissions, including noise.

Ultra-high bypass ratio for the future
Since the 1960s, bypass ratios have increased from 2:1 to 6:1 for the V2500, the classic 1980s engine, and on to the current record of 12:1 set by the latest geared turbofan (GTF). Developers aim to refine the GTF engine to achieve a bypass ratio greater than 12:1. Experts describe this as an ultra-high bypass ration (UHBR).

With this world-class low-pressure turbine, today MTU is in a league of its own. But even this exceptional turbine has room for improvement. “We’re working on new materials, even more powerful computer simulations, and newly optimized aerodynamics to create the next generation of low-pressure turbines,” Bock says. MTU is the only company in the world to have mastered this technology in large-scale production. The company’s staying power and meticulous development efforts have also paid off: as well as representing a technological quantum leap, the geared turbofan concept developed together with Pratt & Whitney has also been a major commercial success. Today, Airbus offers the GTF for the A320neo family and the A220 (formerly the Bombardier C Series), Mitsubishi has selected the engine exclusively for its SpaceJet regional jet, and Embraer uses it to power the new E-Jets of the E-170 and E-190 families. Irkut will also equip its MC-21 with the GTF. Currently, Pratt & Whitney can boast a total of more than 10,000 orders and options for geared turbofan engines worldwide.

MTU innovations have gone into the current version, such as the first additively manufactured components, called borescope bosses, and brush seals. The latter, together with new blisk compressor stages, improve the performance of the high-pressure compressor. “The technological developments and successes to date naturally make us proud,” says Dr. Martin Stadlbauer, Senior Vice President for Advanced Commercial and Military Programs. For instance, GTF technology has avoided more than five million tons of CO2 emissions to date. “But we can and must make more savings and improvements in the future,” Stadlbauer says. The next GTF generation, which is scheduled for market launch at the beginning of the next decade, is expected to deliver further savings of up to 10 percent in fuel consumption and CO2 emissions. For instance, it should be possible to achieve even lower fan pressure ratios over the coming years, which would further increase the bypass ratio—from the current 12:1 to somewhere in the region of 15:1.

Moreover, MTU’s engineers are working on further improving the core engine’s thermal efficiency by increasing the pressure ratios. To achieve this, they want to push the efficiency of the low-pressure turbine and the high-pressure compressor even higher. “Using new virtual design processes and simulation tools, we know we can increase the speed of the necessary developments while reducing costs,” Stadlbauer says.

Additive manufacturing: Hover over the image for a bigger view

Additive manufacturing: Borescope bosses for A320neo Geared Turbofan are made by selective laser melting.

High-pressure compressor blisk: Hover over the image for a bigger view

High-pressure compressor blisk: The company has refined a production method – dubbed precise electro-chemical machining (PECM) – for manufacturing this component.

Additive manufacturing:
High-pressure compressor blisk:

Climate neutrality with SAFs and “wet” combustion

In addition to the current configuration of the GTF engines, MTU is also going further and working on revolutionary concepts such as the water-enhanced turbofan (WET) engine. With this concept, water is evaporated in a heat exchanger in the exhaust gas stream and injected into the combustor. “This recuperates the waste heat that would otherwise be lost in the exhaust gas stream and feeds it back into the cycle, significantly improving the engine’s thermal efficiency,” Stadlbauer explains. Moreover, “wet” combustion prevents NOx emissions almost entirely.

Future GTF versions will also be optimized to run on higher proportions of sustainable aviation fuels (SAFs). Currently, a 50 percent SAF admixture is possible, but the aim is to get as close as possible to 100 percent, Stadlbauer says. In combination with the WET engine, this could make a climate-neutral and at the same time highly efficient GTF engine possible—even for performance requirements exceeding those of the A320neo family. “With larger gearboxes, you can adjust the power output and, if the market demands it, build even larger engines,” Bock explains. He adds that Pratt & Whitney is already pushing forward with this development. “Together with developments on engines that burn hydrogen directly and, above all, on the flying fuel cell, we feel that the coming GTF generations are well prepared to meet increasing demands,” Bock says. “We have our sights firmly set on the climate-neutral future of aviation.”

You may also be interested in these articles:


AEROREPORT is an aviation magazine published by MTU Aero Engines, Germany's leading engine manufacturer. Neatly summed up, AEROREPORT offers an MTU perspective on the world of aviation. The word “REPORT” in the title stands for the high-tech and outstanding service “made by MTU”. “AERO” represents broader horizons and general aviation topics.

Flying and the technologies that make it possible yield a wealth of content for the magazine, which makes for some truly fascinating reading: stories from over one hundred years of history and plenty of exciting features on topics with a bearing on the future of aviation, such as climate change, population growth and limited resources.

innovation

Getriebefan-Entwicklung: Immer noch Luft nach oben

Leiser, sparsamer und emissionsärmer – bereits die erste GTF-Generation gilt als technische Meisterleistung. Ausoptimiert ist die Triebwerksarchitektur aber noch lange nicht.

10.2021 | Autor: Denis Dilba

Autor:
Denis Dilba studierte Mechatronik, besuchte die Deutsche Journalistenschule und gründete das digitale Wissenschaftsmagazin Substanz. Er schreibt über verschiedenste Themen aus Technik und Wissenschaft.

Kopf

Ein Getriebe überträgt Leistung, wandelt Drehmomente und Drehzahlen. Kein Wunder also, dass das Bauteil schon lange vor dem Jahr 2008 in Triebwerken von diversen Luftfahrzeugen eingesetzt wurde: Hubschrauber beispielsweise kommen ohne das mechanische Bauteil überhaupt nicht aus; und auch in Turboprop-Antrieben sorgen Getriebe seit jeher dafür, dass sich die Propeller mit der richtigen Geschwindigkeit drehen. Mit Einführung des Getriebefan-Programms vor 13 Jahren spielen Getriebe auch in Verkehrsflugzeugen eine Rolle – mit deutlich höheren Leistungsanforderungen. „Das Neue an diesem sogenannten Planetengetriebe war und ist tatsächlich die enorme Anforderung an die zu übertragende Leistung“, sagt Dr. Stephan Bock, Leiter Entwicklung zivile Programme bei der MTU Aero Engines. „Über eine Fläche, die nicht größer als ein Kanaldeckel ist, wird eine Leistung von rund 20 Megawatt übertragen – so viel wie ein kleineres stationäres Kraftwerk.“

Neben den hohen Leistungen ergeben sich allerhöchste Ansprüche an die Zuverlässigkeit der gesamten Technik im Getriebefan. „Bei dieser Leistungsklasse ist selbst die prozentual winzige Verlustwärme so groß, dass die Kühlung immer gewährleistet sein muss – sonst erhitzt sich das Getriebe in kürzester Zeit bis zum Schmelzpunkt der Materialien und ist dann, salopp gesagt, einfach nicht mehr da“, erklärt MTU-Ingenieur Bock. Das G im GTF, dem Geared Turbofan, wie der Getriebefan auf Englisch bezeichnet wird, ist damit nach wie vor eine herausragende ingenieurstechnische Meisterleistung: Die neue Triebwerksarchitektur erlaubt es allen Komponenten, in ihrem jeweiligen Drehzahloptimum zu laufen: der Fan mit seinem großen Durchmesser langsamer, Niederdruckverdichter und Niederdruckturbine erheblich schneller. Ohne Getriebe müssen Kompromisse bei den Drehzahlen gemacht werden, die dann zu Lasten der Komponentenwirkungsgrade gehen. Bis heute hat es neben GTF-Hersteller Pratt & Whitney kein anderer Wettbewerber geschafft, so ein Planetengetriebe in den Flugbetrieb zu bringen.

Schnelllaufende Niederdruckturbine: Fahren Sie über das Bild für eine größere Ansicht

Schnelllaufende Niederdruckturbine: Für die GTF-Schlüsselkomponente erhielt die MTU zwei deutsche Innovationspreise.

Schnelllaufende Niederdruckturbine:

Mit MTU-Ingenieurskunst Potenziale heben

Weitere zentrale technologische Highlights und Meilensteine, ohne die der Getriebefan nicht funktionieren würde, betreffen die beiden MTU-Hauptkomponenten: die schnelllaufende Niederdruckturbine und die ersten vier Stufen des insgesamt achtstufigen Hochdruckverdichters in Blisk-Bauweise. Damit erreicht der Getriebefan einen sehr hohen Wirkungsgrad, der bereits rein rechnerisch beeindruckende Resultate vorzuweisen hat: Treibstoffverbrauch und Kohlenstoffdioxidausstoß verringern sich um je 16 Prozent, der Lärmteppich sogar um 75 Prozent. Und auch bei den NOx-Emissionen kann der GTF deutliche Verbesserungen aufweisen: Sie sind um 50 Prozent geringer als beim Vorgängermodell. Betreiber berichteten in der Praxis aktuell sogar von Treibstoffeinsparungen von bis zu 20 Prozent verglichen mit Flugzeugen der vorherigen Generation, sagt Tom Pelland, Senior Vice President, Commercial Engine Programs bei GTF-Hersteller Pratt & Whitney.

Einen Hauptanteil an diesem Erfolg hat insbesondere die schnelllaufende Niederdruckturbine mit ihren höheren Wirkungsgraden. Für die GTF-Schlüsselkomponente erhielt die MTU zwei deutsche Innovationspreise. Durch die hohen Umfangsgeschwindigkeiten infolge des Untersetzungsgetriebes lassen sich im GTF größere Stufenarbeiten realisieren. Im Airbus A320neo-Antrieb werden daher nur noch drei Stufen benötigt. Bauraum, Gewicht, Instandhaltungskosten, Kraftstoffverbrauch und CO2-Ausstoß des Gesamttriebwerks sinken. Und als wäre das nicht schon eindrucksvoll genug, trägt die MTU-Niederdruckturbine auch wesentlich zur erzielten Lärmminderung bei. Sie ist deutlich leiser als herkömmliche Modelle, da ihre Lärmemissionen höhere Frequenzen haben, die in der Atmosphäre besser gedämpft werden und für das menschliche Ohr damit kaum mehr wahrnehmbar sind.

GTF Triebwerksfamilie: Die neuen Triebwerke bieten Verbesserungen im zweistelligen Prozentbereich bei Kraftstoffverbrauch, Schadstoff- und Lärmemissionen sowie Betriebskosten.

Ende der GTF-Erfolgsgeschichte nicht in Sicht

Was bedeutet eigentlich „Bypass-Ratio“?

In modernen Turbofan-Triebwerken treibt das Kerntriebwerk einen Fan an, welcher Luft am Kerntriebwerk vorbei im Nebenstrom beschleunigt. Das Verhältnis aus Nebenstrom und der Luft, die durch das Kerntriebwerk geleitet wird, nennt man Bypass-Ratio – im Deutschen „Nebenstromverhältnis“.

Ein Triebwerk ist dann effizient, wenn es viel Luftmasse, also große Nebenstromverhältnisse, bei möglichst kleiner Geschwindigkeitsdifferenz zur Fluggeschwindigkeit bewegt. Und das senkt wiederum Kraftstoffverbrauch und Emissionen inklusive Lärm.

Ultra High Bypass Ratio für die Zukunft
Seit den 1960er Jahren sind die Werte von anfangs 2:1 über 6:1 für den Triebwerksklassiker V2500 aus den 1980ern bis zum bisherigen Rekordwert von 12:1 für den aktuellen Getriebefan gestiegen. Bei der Weiterentwicklung des GTF-Antriebs wird ein Nebenstromverhältnis jenseits von 12:1 angestrebt. Experten sprechen dann von einer Ultra High Bypass Ratio (UHBR).

Mit dieser Weltklasse-Niederdruckturbine bewegt sich die MTU heute in einer eigenen Liga. Aber auch diese Ausnahme-Turbine kann man noch verbessern. „Mit neuen Werkstoffen, noch leistungsfähigeren Computersimulationen und nochmals optimierter Aerodynamik arbeiten wir bereits an einer neuen Niederdruckturbinen-Generation“, sagt Stephan Bock. Weltweit wird diese Technologie in der Serie nur von der MTU beherrscht. Der lange Atem und die Akribie bei der Entwicklung hat sich auch für die MTU gelohnt: Das gemeinsam mit Pratt & Whitney entwickelte Getriebefan-Konzept ist nicht nur ein technologischer Quantensprung sondern auch auf dem Markt ein großer Erfolg: Airbus bietet den GTF heute für die A320neo-Familie und die A220 (ehemals Bombardier C-Series) an, Mitsubishi hat das Triebwerk exklusiv für seinen Regional-Jet SpaceJet ausgewählt und Embraer treibt die neuen E-Jets der Familien E-170 und E-190 damit an. Und auch Irkut wird seine MC-21 mit dem GTF ausstatten. Derzeit kann Pratt & Whitney weltweit insgesamt über 10.000 Bestellungen und Optionen für Getriebefan-Antriebe verzeichnen.

In die aktuelle GTF-Version hielten bereits MTU-Innovationen Einzug: zum Beispiel die ersten additiv gefertigten Bauteile, sogenannte Boroskopaugen, sowie Bürstendichtungen. Letztere verbessern zusammen mit neuen Blisk-Verdichterstufen die Performance des Hochdruckverdichters. „Die bisherigen technologischen Entwicklungen und Erfolge machen uns natürlich stolz“, sagt Dr. Martin Stadlbauer, Leiter Vorauslegung zivile und militärische Programme. So konnten durch die GTF-Technologie bis heute mehr als fünf Millionen Tonnen CO2-Ausstoß vermieden werden. „Aber wir müssen und können künftig noch mehr Einsparungen und Verbesserungen erzielen“, so Stadlbauer. Die kommende GTF-Generation, deren Markteinführung ab Anfang der nächsten Dekade angepeilt wird, soll noch einmal bis zu zehn Prozent Einsparungen bei Kraftstoffverbrauch und CO2-Emissionen bringen. Dazu könnte das Fan-Druckverhältnis weiter reduziert und das Bypass-Verhältnis in den kommenden Jahren weiter erhöht werden – von derzeit 12:1 bis in einer Größenordnung von 15:1.

Zudem arbeiten die MTU-Ingenieur:innen daran, den thermischen Wirkungsgrad des Kerntriebwerks durch höhere Druckverhältnisse weiter zu verbessern, wofür die Wirkungsgrade von Niederdruckturbine und Hochdruckverdichter noch einmal nach oben getrieben werden. „Neue virtuelle Auslegungsverfahren und Simulations-Tools sorgen dafür, dass wir die Geschwindigkeit bei den nötigen Entwicklungen erhöhen können und gleichzeitig die Kosten reduzieren“, sagt Stadlbauer.

Additive Fertigung: Fahren Sie über das Bild für eine größere Ansicht

Additive Fertigung: Boroskopaugen für A320neo-Getriebefan entstehen per Laserschmelzen.

Hochdruckverdichter-Blisk: Fahren Sie über das Bild für eine größere Ansicht

Hochdruckverdichter-Blisk: Für die Herstellung hat die MTU ein neues Herstellverfahren entwickelt – das Präzise Elektrochemische Abtragen.

Additive Fertigung:
Hochdruckverdichter-Blisk:

Mit SAFs und „nasser“ Verbrennung zur Klimaneutralität

Über die aktuelle Konfiguration der GTF-Triebwerke hinaus werde auch an weitergehenden, revolutionären Konzepten gearbeitet – wie etwa dem Water-Enhanced Turbofan (WET Engine). Dabei wird in einem Wärmetauscher im Abgasstrahl Wasser verdampft und in die Brennkammer eingespritzt. „Dadurch wird die sonst im Abgasstrahl verlorene Abwärme rekuperiert und dem Kreisprozess wieder zugeführt, wodurch der thermische Wirkungsgrad des Antriebs deutlich verbessert wird“, erklärt Stadlbauer. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht eine „nasse Verbrennung“ die fast vollständige Vermeidung von Stickoxiden.

Künftige GTF-Versionen werden zudem daraufhin optimiert, mit höheren Anteilen an nachhaltigen Flugkraftstoffen, sogenannten Sustainable Aviation Fuels, betrieben zu werden. Derzeit seien 50 Prozent SAF-Zumischung möglich, angepeilt sind möglichst 100 Prozent, so der MTU-Technologe. In Kombination mit der WET-Engine könnte so ein klimaneutraler und gleichzeitig hocheffizienter GTF-Antrieb möglich werden – auch für noch höhere Leistungsanforderungen als bei der A320neo-Familie. „Mit größeren Getrieben kann man die Leistung anpassen und, wenn der Markt das fordert, noch größere Triebwerke bauen“, sagt Stephan Bock. Diese Entwicklung werde bei Pratt & Whitney bereits vorangetrieben. „Zusammen mit Entwicklungen zu Triebwerken, die Wasserstoff direkt verbrennen, und vor allem der fliegenden Brennstoffzelle, fühlen wir uns mit den kommenden GTF-Generationen auf die steigenden Anforderungen gut vorbereitet“, sagt der MTU-Ingenieur. „Wir haben die klimaneutrale Zukunft der Luftfahrt fest im Blick.“

Diese Artikel könnten Sie auch interessieren:


Der AEROREPORT ist das Luftfahrtmagazin der MTU Aero Engines, Deutschlands führendem Triebwerkshersteller.
„Die Welt der Luftfahrt mit MTU-Brille“ bringt auf den Punkt, worüber der AEROREPORT berichtet. „REPORT“ steht für Hochtechnologie
und exzellenten Service „Made by MTU“, „AERO“ für den Blick über den Tellerrand hinaus, auf allgemeine Luftfahrtthemen.

Fliegen und die Technologie, die es ermöglicht, sind faszinierend und bieten ein breites Themenspektrum für ein Luftfahrtmagazin: mehr als hundert Jahre Geschichte und viele Fragestellungen für die Zukunft der Luftfahrt angesichts von Klimawandel, Bevölkerungswachstum und Ressourcenknappheit.