Technology

aeroreport_high-bypass-triebwerke-der-zukunft_teaser

High-bypass engines of the future

02.2018 | In the EU technology program ENOVAL, MTU Aero Engines is developing innovative low-pressure turbine technology for the engines of tomorrow. Very high bypass ratios of up to 16:1 will make engines quieter and more efficient, with lower emissions.

aeroreport_dr-frank-grauer_teaser

The future is geared

11.2017 | MTU’s Director Engineering Advanced Programs talked about international knowledge sharing on the future of air-breathing engines at this year’s ISABE conference.

ein-hauch-von-schutz_teaser

Coatings protect engine components

05.2017 | Ultra-thin layers of metallic or ceramic materials protect against heat, erosion and chemical agents. In the quest to design more efficient propulsion systems that can be operated efficiently with higher combustion temperatures, thermal coatings have become a key technology.

kleine-reparatur_grosse-wirkung_teaser

V2500: Minor repair job—major effect

05.2017 | In the case of the high-pressure compressor for the V2500 engine, thin vibration damping rings were significantly reducing the service life. This was solved with tongue-and-groove joints to connect the wire ends and applying a spark-free coating to the housing walls.

Technology

aeroreport_high-bypass-triebwerke-der-zukunft_teaser

High-Bypass-Triebwerke der Zukunft

02.2018 | Im EU-Technologieprogramm ENOVAL entwickelt die MTU Aero Engines innovative Niederdruckturbinentechnik für die Triebwerke von morgen. Sehr hohe Nebenstromverhältnisse von bis zu 16:1 werden die Antriebe effizienter, leiser und emissionsärmer machen.

ein-hauch-von-schutz_teaser

Beschich­tungen schützen Trieb­werks­bau­teile

05.2017 | Hauchfeine metallische und keramische Schichten schützen vor Hitze, Erosion und chemischen Angriffen. Auf dem Weg zu ef­fizi­en­teren Flug­antrieben mit höheren Ver­brennungs­temperaturen und einem wirt­schaft­lichen Betrieb sind sie zur Schlüssel­technologie geworden.

kleine-reparatur_grosse-wirkung_teaser

V2500: Kleine Reparatur – große Wirkung

05.2017 | Beim Hochdruck­verdichter des V2500-Triebwerks reduzierten dünne Ringe zur Schwingungs­dämpfung die Lebens­dauer deutlich. Eine Nut-Feder-Lösung für die Drahtenden und eine funken­frei aufgebrachte Beschichtung der Gehäuse­wand schaffen Abhilfe.